Skeptigator

Icon

Aggregating Skeptical Thought

I’m not feeling so good

I continue to work my way through Disinformation’s Everything You Know About God Is Wrong. (See more Brain Food). I have come to the following Chapter/Essay, whatever, titled simply, Philadelphia Grand Jury Report: On Abusive Priests and the Cardinals Who Enabled Them. It is just that the full Grand Jury Report from the 2005 investigation into sexual abuse by Catholic priests in the Philadelphia Archdiocese. Here’s the link to the full report, while not terribly long it is something you really need to be prepared to read.

I am normally pretty passive when people talk about their personal beliefs and only draw the line when it turns into proselytizing or begins to impact me and my family (through legislation, intolerance, etc.). I even make the occasional, “watch out for the Catholic priest” jokes. But after reading the grand jury report my stomach is quite literally nauseous and those jokes don’t seem so funny anymore.

63 priests (63!!!) were shuffled over decades (50+ years in one instance) through dozens of parishes (even out of the diocese when they ran out safe places within the diocese) and were (and continue to be) exposed to hundreds of children. These were systematically covered up by the all too willing Cardinals who were clearly more interested in protecting themselves and the image of the church than these children. People were fired for exposing this, children were beaten, ridiculed and suspended for daring to speak out. This was just one archdiocese.

And even worse, this abuse was so well documented even in the parish records yet no one can be convicted because the statute of limitations ran out. Statute of Limitations?!?!?!? Like what? Do the sodomized 8 year-old boys just get over their rape after 10 years or so? A certain Father Mulholland (who was documented by the Grand Jury in a handful of cases to have victims who were subjected to being bound and tortured and the simultaneous rape of 2 boys) is still an active member of the clergy (at the time of the report), yet the “events” took place too long ago and the statute of limitations has run out. WTF?????????

I have to somehow separate the acts of these perverts from the religion itself but how can you? How can you separate the actions of the men in charge of this religion from the obvious depravation with which they are managing their “flock”. And I’m not talking about the priests who did the molesting but the Cardinals in charge of an entire archdiocese, the very men who are but a level below the Pope himself (the supposed infallible heir to Jesus authority until his return). These guys had such overwhelming evidence (including confessions by the priests themselves) that this stuff was happening for decades by the same priests.

;alkdf;aldfjkl;asdjfl;akdj fl;adkjfasdkfjaklfjkl; asdjfkl;awdfjakl;j Sorry, got a little upset. Gotta stop thinking about it.

Technorati Atheism, Catholicism

Filed under: Science, , , ,

5 Responses

  1. Jason says:

    Hiya,

    I’m with you. Seriously.

    “I have to somehow separate the acts of these perverts from the religion itself, but how can you?”

    A lack of prejudice is an important virtue in thie society. I don’t read what you are saying and presume that, in order to do what you think is important, you are one effrontery away from doing a Stalin impression.

    Please, don’t do that. Real Christians value justice.

    Thanks.

  2. hoverFrog says:

    I’ve just typed a dozen different comments about this but deleted them. None of them adequately indicate my disgust at these people or the organisations that not only enabled them but protected them.

    They all need to be punished. If the law won’t do it then the Pope should. It’s past time that the church actually stood up for what it claims to believe. I’d like to see an Inquisition that actually did some good.

  3. Skeptigator says:

    @Jason
    In my head I have made the separation between the religion and the pervert. Emotionally I think otherwise, and if I did let my emotions on this take over I probably would take a page from the Book of Stalin (but that would be very rational of me would it 😉

    What makes me the most upset is the use of the church’s infrastructure and its “above being scrutinized” reputation by those in charge of protecting their “flock”to protect themselves. This is where I don’t separate the actions of those in charge from the church itself.

    @hoverFrog

    I’m hoping my anger and disgust came through in the post. I just get so upset when it comes to this kind of thing… The excuses that are made in the interest of protecting themselves and not the children.

    Anytime I hear “The Inquisition” I see Mel Brooks doing a song and dance from History of the World, Part I. It makes me feel better.

  4. […] I know why don’t you read the Philadelphia grand jury report that tells you EXACTLY how the priests did what they did, and the disgusting bishops who let them […]

  5. […] pope and his suffering [please read with as much derision and condescension as possible). Try being a 12 year old boy forced to wear a diaper and chained in a priests bedroom. You Douche […]

Leave a Reply

